Directory

Professor Thandi
  • Kapany Visiting Professor

Sikhism and Sikh Diaspora

Diasporas and Development

International Political Economy

Indian and Chinese Development

Role of China and India in Sub-Saharan Africa

 

Founder-editor of the Journal of Punjab Studies (now Journal of Sikh and Punjab Studies), in publication since 1994. The Journal has been published by the Center for Sikh & Punjab Studies at UC Santa Barbara since 2004. Also one of the founders and later Convenor of the Punjab Research Group which was established in the UK in 1984.

He has published widely on Indian, Punjabi and Sikh migration and on transnational practices of Sikhs, especially Sikh diaspora’s homeland relations. He is co-author (with Michael Fisher and Shompa Lahiri) of A South Asian History of Britain: Four Centuries of Peoples from the Indian Sub-Continent, (Greenwood Press, 2007). He has co-edited two books: Punjabi Identity in a Global Context [ed. with Pritam Singh, OUP, 1999) and People on the Move: Punjabi Colonial and Post Colonial Migration [edited with Ian Talbot, OUP, 2004).  He is currently working on a book on Global Sikhism

Affiliated Faculty

Name Department Email Office
Lalaie Ameeriar Asian American Studies lalaie.ameeriar@asamst.ucsb.edu HSSB 5032
Ralph Armbruster-Sandoval Chicano Studies armbrust@chicst.ucsb.edu SH 1706
Kum-Kum Bhavnani Sociology bhavnani@soc.ucsb.edu SSMS 3024
Eileen Boris Feminist Studies boris@femst.ucsb.edu SH 4708
Juan Campo Religious Studies jcampo@religion.ucsb.edu HSSB 3054
Benjamin Cohen Political Science bjcohen@polsci.ucsb.edu EH 3812
Timothy Cooley Music cooley@music.ucsb.edu Music1101
Michael Curtin Film & Media Studies mcurtin@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu SSMS 2318
John Foran Sociology foran@soc.ucsb.edu SSMS 3417
Nancy Gallagher History gallagher@history.ucsb.edu HSSB 3257
Lisa Hajjar Sociology lhajjar@soc.ucsb.edu SSMS 3018
Mary Hancock Anthropology hancock@anth.ucsb.edu HSSB 2071
Richard Hecht Religious Studies ariel@religion.ucsb.edu HSSB 3076
Nelson Lichtenstein History nelson@history.ucsb.edu HSSB 4256
Fernando Lopez-Alves Sociology lopez-al@soc.ucsb.edu SSMS 3415
David López-Carr Geography carr@geog.ucsb.edu EH 4836
W. Patrick McCray History pmccray@history.ucsb.edu HSSB 4224
Stephan Miescher History miescher@history.ucsb.edu HSSB 4241
Ann Plane Feminist Studies plane@history.ucsb.edu HSSB 4215
Rita Raley English raley@english.ucsb.edu SH 2703
Dwight F. Reynolds Religious Studies dreynold@religion.ucsb.edu HSSB 3056
William Robinson Sociology wirobins@soc.ucsb.edu SSMS 3310
Leila J. Rupp History lrupp@femst.ucsb.edu SH 4710
Michael Stohl Communication mstohl@comm.ucsb.edu SSMS 4125
Casey Walsh Anthropology walsh@anth.ucsb.edu HSSB 2081
Mayfair Yang Religious Studies/East Asian yangm@religion.ucsb.edu HSSB 3084

 

Visiting Faculty

Name Email Office